Poverty and Metal Health


Poverty increases the risk of mental health problems and can be both a causal factor and a consequence of mental ill health. Mental health is shaped by the wide-ranging characteristics (including inequalities) of the social, economic and physical environments in which people live.


 

Through researching the affects that poverty have on people and society I have decided to create a range of digital outcomes based on my findings.

Today I was focusing my research and imagry  around mental health. This is because I found that people who live in poverty or are on a low income are more likely to suffer mental health problem.

  • Children and adults living in households in the lowest 20% income bracket in Great Britain are 2-3 times more likely to develop mental health problems than those in the highest income bracket. 
  • Adults in the poorest fifth are much more likely to be at risk of developing a mental illness as those on average incomes: around 24% compared with 14%.

After I had experimented with my images I decided to think about one key fact. Women are more at risk than men, by an average of around 4 percentage. I then wanted to think about how I could use key colours, imagry and effects to marry up the key points of the image (poverty, gender and mental health). I did this by adding colour, Pink being a bigger space and blue being a smaller space. This was done to represent males (blue) and women (pink). I highlighted a part of the head in red. This was done to represent the strain, stress and constant burden poverty/money issues has on a persons. Within the red circle I subtly added a £1 coin to represent the money aspect. I added reputation an rhythm with the image by directing the queens head the same way as the humans head, This was to link the importance of money to person.

Below I have experimented with my images through Photoshop. Through theses experimentations I have thought about design principles, to express different messages through the same images.

Leave a Reply

